Discover the Adirondacks Series

The Owner's Manuals for the Adirondack Forest Preserve

With the publication of the first book in 1974, the Discover the Adirondacks series of eleven four-season, multi-use guides has allowed the outdoor explorer to discover all of the Adirondack Park, from the most popular trails to the most hidden destinations. These are the essential guides for anyone with a desire to experience a wilderness adventure in the Adirondack Forest Preserve. Each guide presents, in Barbara McMartin's words, “all hiking trails, including trails suitable for ski-touring, unmarked paths, the best bushwhacks, and most of the canoe routes.” Each guide has sections of topographic maps with trail overlays, as well as dozens of excellent photographs. The Adirondack Forest Preserve is a wilderness resource that belongs to us all—get out there and experience it!

The Guides

Each guidebook in the series covers a specific region of the Adirondack Park. Please select a region below to view more information about that guide.

Discover the...

Map of Adirondacks showing the region each guide covers
Discover the Central Adirondacks Discover the Eastern Adirondacks Discover the Adirondack High Peaks Discover the Northeast Adirondacks Discover the Northern Adirondacks Discover the Northwest Adirondacks Discover the South Central Adirondacks Discover the Southeast Adirondacks Discover the Southern Adirondacks Discover the Southwestern Adirondacks Discover the West Central Adirondacks Select a guidebook region